• Hello!

Either you have not registered on this site yet, or you are registered but have not logged in. In either case, you will not be able to use the full functionality of this site until you have registered, and then logged in after your registration has been approved.

Registration is FREE, so please register so you can participate instead of remaining a lurker....

Please be certain that the location field is correctly filled out when you register. All registrations that appear to be bogus will be rejected. Which means that if your location field does NOT match the actual location of your registration IP address, then your registration will be rejected.

Sorry about the strictness of this requirement, but it is necessary to block spammers and scammers at the door as much as possible.

Adult Corn goes hyper whilst being handled

gaz1974

Hi all....I'm new to keeping reptiles..

I've had Fuzzy for five weeks now. She's a 3 years old amel corn snake.

Sometimes she tail rattles when I go to get her out but this is getting less frequent. I always get her out anyway.

However, when handled she is calm to start with but after about 5 minutes starts to get hyper, clinging tightly around my wrist with her back end and darting around wildly with her front. She also contorts her tail.

Once she gets near this point I put her back in. She normally goes to her cave hide shortly after.

I assume she's starting to panic about not being in her viv.

I don't handle her for two days following a feed and the viv temps are (at hot end) 31 in the day and 21 at night.

Does anyone else have this experience?

How are you holding her? If you aren't supporting a large part of her body I completely understand why she is doing that. The only time my snakes have ever flailed around like that is when they are not being supported. I try to make sure that I have at least three points of contact at all times, by the tail, middle, and front.