• Hello!

Either you have not registered on this site yet, or you are registered but have not logged in. In either case, you will not be able to use the full functionality of this site until you have registered, and then logged in after your registration has been approved.

Registration is FREE, so please register so you can participate instead of remaining a lurker....

Please be certain that the location field is correctly filled out when you register. All registrations that appear to be bogus will be rejected. Which means that if your location field does NOT match the actual location of your registration IP address, then your registration will be rejected.

Sorry about the strictness of this requirement, but it is necessary to block spammers and scammers at the door as much as possible.

Becoming One with the Cornsnake

aylimn

Corn snake novice
Hello all fellow corn snake lovers. I am new to this world. I love reptiles in general and was recently offered the chance to take on a 5-year old corn snake from a lady who inherited her and didn't like snakes. So I did a bit of research and here I sit now with a lovely little 5 foot long scaly woman named Rusty.

Anyway, I've rarely handled snaked in my life, so this was quite a commitment to take on. Did some digging and asked some questions..handled her for the first time she'd been handled in a year last week. Since then, I've handled her a few times. Taking it easy and all.

I've noticed that being comfortable with snake handling seems to involve a mental state of feeling at one with the snake, or in a zen space, or, if you will, just being in a calm and centered state of mind so as to approach the snake in the best possible mindset.

Anyone else feel this way or had some thoughts on it?