• Hello!

Either you have not registered on this site yet, or you are registered but have not logged in. In either case, you will not be able to use the full functionality of this site until you have registered, and then logged in after your registration has been approved.

Registration is FREE, so please register so you can participate instead of remaining a lurker....

Please be certain that the location field is correctly filled out when you register. All registrations that appear to be bogus will be rejected. Which means that if your location field does NOT match the actual location of your registration IP address, then your registration will be rejected.

Sorry about the strictness of this requirement, but it is necessary to block spammers and scammers at the door as much as possible.

Handling question

jniels84

So im new to corn snakes and ive read that you are suppost to handle your corn snake everyday, but ive also read that you are not suppost to pick up their hide when they are in there because it stresses them out. These two things kinda contradict eachother if your snake likes to hide like mine does. Is it okay to remove the snake from its hide to handle it?

It won't hurt a thing to lift the hide and remove your snake. I don't know why you should handle your snakes daily, though. They do get accustomed to handling, but in my experience, they are either laid back or not. Handling can make a difference, but most corns are perfectly docile if you only handle them to clean cages -once they get some size to them. There are those that aren't, and handling only seems to help so much with those. Only my Okeetees from wild caught lineage are regularly grumpy (as corns go). Outside of those, roughly 1% seem to just wake up on the wrong side of the hide every day. The rest are very hesitant to bite.

As Chip says, lifting the hide is fine. Just do it as gently as you can.