• Hello!

Either you have not registered on this site yet, or you are registered but have not logged in. In either case, you will not be able to use the full functionality of this site until you have registered, and then logged in after your registration has been approved.

Registration is FREE, so please register so you can participate instead of remaining a lurker....

Please be certain that the location field is correctly filled out when you register. All registrations that appear to be bogus will be rejected. Which means that if your location field does NOT match the actual location of your registration IP address, then your registration will be rejected.

Sorry about the strictness of this requirement, but it is necessary to block spammers and scammers at the door as much as possible.

heating questions from a paranoid new snake owner

mazzy

Hi! I'm just a newbie checking in with some questions. I've seen answers to similar questions posted here but I have some specific situations and I'm not sure what to do.

I purchased a ~3 month old corn on Saturday. I'm going crazy trying to work out the heating situation. I started out with a Repti-Therm under tank heater (my tank is 20 gallons so i got the 10-20 gallon size) and placed it under the tank (without sticking it to the tank). It felt way too hot so I bought a rheostat. Still pretty hot, even on the low setting. I currently have this set-up: table, towel, Repti-Therm, towel, tank. This is spelling fire hazard for me. Is it dangerous to rest the Repti-Therm directly on my table? Can I then put the plastic nubs that came with it on the bottom of the tank and simply place the tank over it?