• Hello!

Either you have not registered on this site yet, or you are registered but have not logged in. In either case, you will not be able to use the full functionality of this site until you have registered, and then logged in after your registration has been approved.

Registration is FREE, so please register so you can participate instead of remaining a lurker....

Please be certain that the location field is correctly filled out when you register. All registrations that appear to be bogus will be rejected. Which means that if your location field does NOT match the actual location of your registration IP address, then your registration will be rejected.

Sorry about the strictness of this requirement, but it is necessary to block spammers and scammers at the door as much as possible.

incubation

webman33

This is my first time breeding and I think I did all of the steps right. I’m just a little confused about incubation. I bought a Hovabator and got that all setup and I was planning on using a shoebox with hatchrite. My questions were: Do you put holes in the shoebox if so how many? How long do you wait to start taking the eggs from the female? How high should you fill up the shoebox with hatchrite? How much do you cover the eggs? I had 1 person tell me to completely cover them others tell me ½ and others tell me 1/3. Sorry I know it’s a lot of questions but I’m excited about breeding for the first time.
I would really appreciate any feedback. Thanks

After the female is done laying remove the eggs. A shoebox is fine but maybe a little big for the hovabator so check the size. 1 tiny hole in the egg container is all I ever put in it. That is a personal preference, some put no holes in them. I bury the eggs in about half to 3/4 the way in, again personal preference. I actually have clumps of eggs that some eggs are not covered at all. And Congratz on your first breeding season...

Semper Paratus Cape May