• Hello!

Either you have not registered on this site yet, or you are registered but have not logged in. In either case, you will not be able to use the full functionality of this site until you have registered, and then logged in after your registration has been approved.

Registration is FREE, so please register so you can participate instead of remaining a lurker....

Please be certain that the location field is correctly filled out when you register. All registrations that appear to be bogus will be rejected. Which means that if your location field does NOT match the actual location of your registration IP address, then your registration will be rejected.

Sorry about the strictness of this requirement, but it is necessary to block spammers and scammers at the door as much as possible.

Need advice...First Time Snake Owner

JeffDenver

I am new to Corn Snakes. I decided I want to transition out of fish and get a snake instead; I like fish a lot but they are just too much maintenance. After looking at the options I decided on a Corn Snake.

I haven't bought one yet. I want to set up the Habitat first. I've looked around and several pet stores have baby corn snakes for sale for around $40. I think I already have most of the equipment I need (pine bedding, driftwood to climb on, aquariums to house it, food/water bowls...I understand I will need a secure top still).

I just have a few questions:

1 - I understand that they need hides...how many and how "opaque" do they need to be? Does the snake need to be able to completely obscure itself from view 100%?

2 - How fast can I expect it to grow? The ones I looked at were pretty small ( a foot or less). I am going to be keeping it in a 15 gallon-high aquarium initially. I have space for a 55 gallon when it comes to that, and I have ready access to a number of tanks. I chose the 15 because I want to keep it on my desk.