• Hello!

Either you have not registered on this site yet, or you are registered but have not logged in. In either case, you will not be able to use the full functionality of this site until you have registered, and then logged in after your registration has been approved.

Registration is FREE, so please register so you can participate instead of remaining a lurker....

Please be certain that the location field is correctly filled out when you register. All registrations that appear to be bogus will be rejected. Which means that if your location field does NOT match the actual location of your registration IP address, then your registration will be rejected.

Sorry about the strictness of this requirement, but it is necessary to block spammers and scammers at the door as much as possible.

Newbie w/ questions

David_F

Hi everybody. I have a few questions that I was hoping I could get some help on. I'm fairly new to keeping snakes and glad I found this site. Now for the questions. :)

1. This past May I bought a snake that I was told is a corn x great plains rat snake cross. It looks like a pure g.p. rat to me though. Is there any way to prove that it is in fact a cross of the two species?

2. From searching this site I gather it's important to offer a hot and a cool side in the tank. How important is this? When I first started looking into getting a corn snake I was told they would do fine at room temperature. My snake has been doing fine as far as I can tell at just room temp but if it's going to help him out I'll supply extra heat.

3. Due to a changing work schedule I, unfortunately, slacked off on cage maintenance for about a month. I went through and did a full clean yesterday afternoon so it's nice and clean now. Since it had been a while since I'd changed substrate what are the chances of any type of bacteria or parasite build-up? Should I worry about having a fecal done to check for anything or just keep an eye on the snake for any signs of sickness?