• Hello!

Either you have not registered on this site yet, or you are registered but have not logged in. In either case, you will not be able to use the full functionality of this site until you have registered, and then logged in after your registration has been approved.

Registration is FREE, so please register so you can participate instead of remaining a lurker....

Please be certain that the location field is correctly filled out when you register. All registrations that appear to be bogus will be rejected. Which means that if your location field does NOT match the actual location of your registration IP address, then your registration will be rejected.

Sorry about the strictness of this requirement, but it is necessary to block spammers and scammers at the door as much as possible.

Turning hides over? Also is Coconut safe as a hide?

Just curious, I'm still new to reptile keeping and with a snake I'm always worried if hes in the viv or got out somehow :p. Hes almost always in his hide but when I want to know for sure, or i want to handle him I turn over the hide and pick him up/ look at him. Will doing this make him feel less secure or not want to go there because its so easy to be found? I know if I was hiding in a little house and someone picked up the house to find me all the time I would try to find another spot to hide :p although maybe humans just have more common sense :p

Also I want to get a new hide and was thinking, if i cut a coconut in half and then cut a hole for an opening, could I use it as a hide? Assuming its big enough, is coconut dangerous to them? Also could open it drain the fluids and put it somewhere to dry, or should i clean out the coconut part? (Im not to sure how coconuts work/are eaten :p )

You can buy coconut type hides, but I wouldn't use one from a grocery store because of preservatives and pesticides.
As for stressing your snake how many times a day do you lift the hide to see if it's there?