• Hello!

Either you have not registered on this site yet, or you are registered but have not logged in. In either case, you will not be able to use the full functionality of this site until you have registered, and then logged in after your registration has been approved.

Registration is FREE, so please register so you can participate instead of remaining a lurker....

Please be certain that the location field is correctly filled out when you register. All registrations that appear to be bogus will be rejected. Which means that if your location field does NOT match the actual location of your registration IP address, then your registration will be rejected.

Sorry about the strictness of this requirement, but it is necessary to block spammers and scammers at the door as much as possible.

Yawning

Creeper

Hello - newbie here. First post. We bought Creeper for Christmas. Our first snake. He is the coolest little creature and has become very comfortable in his new home. I wanted to ask about a behavior that appears to be a yawn. Do corn snakes yawn, or is he in need of something we are not providing? Thank you.

Welcome & congratulations! :)
A very occasional yawn is probably nothing to be concerned about, however, frequent yawning is a sign that they are trying to get more air. Two reasons for this are: respiratory infection (RI) there are usually other signs such as a clicking or poping noise, mucus from mouth and a lack of tongue flicking. one of the other causes is sometimes just before a shed the skin causes a partial obstruction of the nostrils and you will see some yawning- but they will seem well otherwise.
hope this helps
:cheers:

Oh my. He does make the clicking sound. Thank you kindly for your quick response. He flicks his tongue normally and I have seen no sign of mucous. What causes a respiratory infection and how should it be treated?

Creeper said: