• Hello!

Either you have not registered on this site yet, or you are registered but have not logged in. In either case, you will not be able to use the full functionality of this site until you have registered, and then logged in after your registration has been approved.

Registration is FREE, so please register so you can participate instead of remaining a lurker....

Please be certain that the location field is correctly filled out when you register. All registrations that appear to be bogus will be rejected. Which means that if your location field does NOT match the actual location of your registration IP address, then your registration will be rejected.

Sorry about the strictness of this requirement, but it is necessary to block spammers and scammers at the door as much as possible.

UVA / UBV Lighting

Gorak

Hey guys, I'm new to the world of corn snakes and have a great 4 1/2 month old male Amel. I've done a LOT of research on the net (most of which has been from this site) and have created what I believe to be a very comfortable and visually pleasing home for him.

I do however have a question about lighting. I have searched the forums here, and the term 'UVA' or 'UVB' have never been used. I use a combination of a UTH (buffered by a ceramic floor tile) and a 50 watt basking light to create a 85 F temp on his warm side, and I know that the light is UVA. I'm a little confused about the concept of UVB lighting however... many people (from various sites) say it is benifitial, others say that since corns are nocturnal, it's not required, but not harmful, while others say that it damages their eyes.

I'd like to hear a few opinions on this. As well, from what I have read UVB lights contain some UVA lighting. Would this be enough UVA for a corn.

Let's see what kind of discussion this starts ;)

Cheers.