• Hello!

Either you have not registered on this site yet, or you are registered but have not logged in. In either case, you will not be able to use the full functionality of this site until you have registered, and then logged in after your registration has been approved.

Registration is FREE, so please register so you can participate instead of remaining a lurker....

Please be certain that the location field is correctly filled out when you register. All registrations that appear to be bogus will be rejected. Which means that if your location field does NOT match the actual location of your registration IP address, then your registration will be rejected.

Sorry about the strictness of this requirement, but it is necessary to block spammers and scammers at the door as much as possible.

How Long Can I Leave Eggs With Mom?

AliCat37

Michelle's Candied Corns!
Hello everyone!
So, I am still a bit of a newbie when it comes to the breeding know-how. My snake is throwing me a new one this year.. my previous breedings were nice because one day there were no eggs, the next day all of them were laid. Well..

My girl started to lay eggs on Monday night.. it is now Wednesday morning, and she still has several more to pass... at least 36 hours later. I know that the eggs can't be turned after a while.. and I'm not sure how long that "while" is. I have seen on other forums that they can take weeks to lay all their eggs- how long do you wait before calling them egg bound and subsequently intervening? Also.. I know it is not good to constantly pester the snakes. I have only checked on her twice a day, once at night, and once again in the morning. Is waiting 12 hours between check ins OK, or should I only do once every 24 hours or less? Is there any risk of leaving the eggs with her until she is done, or do I need to remove them soon and wait for her to lay the rest? I just don't want to disturb her/stress her out by messing with the eggs that are already laid.
Thanks!